Marvel Studios Legends: Episodes, Release Dates, Characters

With phase 4 of the MCU underway, we have got the announcements of multiple new projects that go well until 2023. We already have the releases of WandaVision, The Falcon and The Winter Soldier, Black Widow movie and Loki series completed this year. What’s more, Marvel has also announced the release date of another series What If….?. 

Marvel Studios Legends

The series has generated a lot of buzz by introducing an altogether new concept. It deals with some of the important Marvel characters experiencing different fates and storylines than they normally faced. We have Peggy Carter being injected with the super soldier serum, Steve Rogers playing the role of Mach1 (Tony Stark’s first ever Iron Man suit) and even T’Challa of Wakanda aka the Black Panther becoming Starlord. The series is set to premiere on Disney+Hotstar from August 11, 2021, and will consist of 10 episodes. What’s interesting is the fact that Marvel have recently announced that another series Marvel Studios: LEGENDS, that premiered back in January will be getting an additional four episodes associated with the upcoming releases.

Marvel Studios: LEGENDS is based on important characters and objects that appear in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Each of the episodes showcases an individual character or object with footage from past MCU films, highlighting their prominent moments from the MCU.


To be precise, the series looks at the individual heroes, villains, moments, and objects from the MCU and how they connect, in anticipation of the upcoming stories that will feature them in the phase four series and films. Let us take a look at each of the episodes and what they dealt with.


Wanda Maximoff aka Scarlet Witch made her MCU debut in Avengers: Age of Ultron, where she and her brother join the Avengers in a bid to take down Tony Stark’s rogue robot, Ultron. The movie would also see the debut of Vision, who would have the Mind Stone embedded in himself. Vision and Wanda subsequently build a relationship that spans through Captain America: Civil War and Avengers: Infinity War, which sees her getting dusted in the snap and Vision getting killed by Thanos for the Mind Stone. Wanda returns in Avengers: Endgame, and how she deals with the loss of her lover and the subsequent struggles is dealt with in the Disney+ series WandaVision.


Tony Stark's artificial intelligence J.A.R.V.I.S., becomes Vision during Age of Ultron when Stark combines J.A.R.V.I.S. with a synthetic body and the Mind Stone. He starts a relationship with Wanda Maximoff in Civil War, but she destroys him in Infinity War in an attempt to stop Thanos from getting the Mind Stone, but he would be brought back by Thanos and get the Mind Stone plucked out of him.


Making his MCU debut in Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014), Sam Wilson befriends Steve Rogers and helps in his fight to take down HYDRA. He then fights as an Avenger in Age of Ultron and Ant-Man. Wilson also stands with Rogers during Civil War and subsequently goes on the run when the government declares them as fugitives. They return to fight Thanos in Infinity War, but are dusted away by Thanos’ snap. Only to return in Endgame, where Steve Rogers hands Wilson the mantle of Captain America. The issues caused due to this and the aftermath of Tony Stark’s snap are seen in The Falcon and The Winter Soldier series


Bucky Barnes is a sergeant in the United States Army during World War II, fighting as a Howling Commando with Steve Rogers(Captain America), and is also his best friend. He falls to his death on a mission, but is recovered by Hydra and brainwashed to become an assassin, the Winter Soldier. Rogers helps Barnes remember his past in The Winter Soldier and Civil War, with the Wakandans helping him remove his programming by the end of Black Panther. Barnes fights Thanos in Infinity War and Endgame. We see him return in The Falcon and The Winter Soldier series along with Sam Wilson, coming to terms with the after effects of Iron Man’s snap and Steve giving up the mantle of Captain America.

  • ZEMO

Helmut Zemo works to divide the Avengers in Civil War after their actions in the battle of Sokovia during Age of Ultron cause the deaths of his family. His plan involves revealing that Tony Stark's parents were murdered by the Winter Soldier(a brainwashed Bucky Barnes), causing the Avengers disbanding, though Zemo is captured by Black Panther and imprisoned. He is broken out in The Falcon and The Winter Soldier, to aid Sam and Bucky in finding the PowerMonger.


Sharon Carter,, is assigned to watch Steve Rogers during the events of The Winter Soldier and eventually becomes his ally. Carter then joins the CIA, where she again helps Rogers as he attempts to save Bucky Barnes during the events of Civil War. In the aftermath to the event, she is seen in The Falcon and The Winter Soldier, where she takes on the secret identity of the PowerMonger.

  • LOKI

Thor’s brother, Loki attempts to claim Odin's throne during the events of Thor but is defeated by Thor and presumed dead. He later reappears on Earth in The Avengers, in an attempt to possess the Tesseract for Thanos, where he is apprehended by the Avengers and returned to Asgard. He is again presumed dead in Thor: The Dark World after apparently sacrificing himself to save Thor, but is found to be alive and impersonating Odin in Thor: Ragnarok. Loki is killed by Thanos in Infinity War. The events of Endgame see him escaping after getting captured in the Battle of New York during Stark and Steve Rogers’ time heist. But he is captured by the TVA(time variance authority) in order to preserve the timeline in the LOKI series.

Check Out - Loki Finale Review


The Tesseract aka Space Infinity Stone first appears in The First Avenger, where Red Skull uses it to build weapons for Hydra in World War II. It is then used byWendy Lawson to create an experimental lightspeed engine in Captain Marvel. Carol Danvers(Captain Marvel) entrusts the Tesseract to Nick Fury and S.H.I.E.L.D. which starts making weapons with the Tesseract in The Avengers. It is stolen by Loki during Ragnarok. Thanos takes it from him in Infinity War, later destroying all of the six Infinity Stones. In Endgame, the Avengers try to retrieve the Infinity Stones from the past, but a 2012 version of Loki steals the Tesseract and teleports away. It eventually ends up in the TVA in LOKI.

In May 2021, before the release of LOKI, episodes for Loki and the Tesseract were announced. The following month, an episode for Black Widow was announced ahead of the Black Widow movie, set to be made available on Disney+. Marvel later announced that the show would also be getting episodes about Peggy Carter, The Avengers Initiative and The Ravagers, with the release of the What If….? series in August.

Post a Comment